The outgoing administration of US President Donald Trump issued a brand new temporary rule that might require vacationer and enterprise travellers from two dozen nations – most in Africa – to pay a bond of as a lot as $15,000 to go to america.

The US State Division on Monday mentioned the momentary ultimate rule, which takes impact December 24 and runs by means of June 24, targets nations whose nationals have greater charges of overstaying B-2 visas for vacationers and B-1 visas for enterprise travellers.

The Trump administration mentioned the six-month pilot programme goals to check the feasibility of gathering such bonds and can function a diplomatic deterrence to overstaying the visas.

“The Pilot Program is designed to use to nationals of specified nations with excessive overstay charges to function a diplomatic device to encourage overseas governments to take all applicable actions to make sure their nationals well timed depart america after making momentary visits,” in keeping with the State Division doc.

A protester holds an indication exterior the US Supreme Court docket, whereas the courtroom justices contemplate the legality of President Donald Trump’s newest journey ban focusing on folks from Muslim-majority nations, in Washington, DC, US [File: Yuri Gripas/Reuters]

Trump, who misplaced a re-election bid earlier this month, made proscribing immigration a spotlight of his four-year time period in workplace. President-elect Joe Biden, a Democrat, has pledged to reverse lots of the Republican president’s immigration insurance policies, however untangling a whole lot of adjustments may take months or years.

Biden’s transition crew didn’t instantly reply to a Reuters request for remark associated to the visa bond requirement.

However in earlier feedback, Biden has mentioned that “on day one” he would revoke Trump’s journey restrictions – typically often called the “Muslim Ban” – which impacts nationals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, in addition to residents from Venezuela, North Korea, Nigeria, Sudan and Myanmar.

Mock-ups of banned Muslim travellers’ passports are positioned exterior the US Supreme Court docket throughout a protest in Washington, DC, US [File: Yuri Gripas/Reuters]

Trump signed the journey ban by the use of govt order in 2017, in a transfer that drew widespread outrage from activists and rights teams who accused the Trump administration of discrimination and racism.

This newest visa bond rule will permit US consular officers to require vacationer and enterprise travellers from nations whose nationals had an “overstay fee” of 10 % or greater in 2019 to pay a refundable bond of $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000.

Twenty-four nations meet that criterion, together with 15 African nations. Whereas these nations had greater charges of overstays, they despatched comparatively few travellers to the US.

Traditionally, US consular officers have been discouraged from requiring travellers to the US to submit a bond, with State Division steering saying processing of the bonds could be “cumbersome”, the momentary rule mentioned.

In keeping with the doc, nations whose vacationer and enterprise travellers might be topic to the bond requirement embrace these from Afghanistan, Iran, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Mauritania, Eritrea and Sudan. Different nations embrace Angola, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, in addition to Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Laos, Liberia, Myanmar (Burma), Papua New Guinea, and Sao Tome and Principe.